Can I Write Off My Couch As A Business Expense?

With the latest lovely virus that is ripping through the Mora area, I have spent nearly a full week at home – minus the trip to the ER with the seven month old.  Not long before this, Nick and I made a purchase we’d been DYING  to make…. we bought a new couch.

Now, so that everyone understands where I’m coming from, we were using a loveseat made of “pleather”, covered in blankets because it was so ugly I didn’t want anyone to see it, and so cold that you couldn’t stand sitting on it anyway.  When you did sit on it, you sank to the back, and couldn’t get back up again.

Nick loves it.

Anyway, I finally had enough.  So couch shopping I (and little dude!) went.

I fell in love with this one, first.  I’m a nut for anything that is blue and brown, and this couch is SO ME.

Blue and Brown couch with ottoman @ Ashley Furniture

Unfortunately, Nick didn’t like the color, and really wanted a recliner… and I knew that there was no way it would look even remotely okay in my living room.  Of course, I could remodel…

Then we found this couch, which instantly left me muttering “are you serious….????”

Green Bay Packers couch @ Ashley Furniture

I’m sure someone will love it very much.  It was in the outlet section, so I couldn’t get back far enough to get a full shot, but it is complete with yellow trim around the arms.  Go Packers?  No, not me.

Then we found this rug.  I should also mention that I like the olive green/brown combination, too.  Would not have gone well with my blue and brown couch.

Green and brown rug @ Ashley Furniture

At $299, however, I had visions of little dude puking on it, or a hot ember popping out of the wood stove and burning it, and quickly shrugged that off.  So after browsing Ashley, I figured I’d head over to the next store.

On the way, I got distracted by the appliance store in between.  Did you even know this existed?  I didn’t!

Drawer microwave @ Karl's appliance

Don’t have a good spot for your microwave?  Just replace a drawer with it?  I thought this was incredibly awesome.  I could nonchalantly throw an entire turkey into this thing, and no one would even know.  I could make entire meals in this, and Nick would never see me deliberately hitting buttons on our microwave on a cart to save room.  I immediately e-mailed to Nick, who informed me that our ginormous Kenmore is just fine, and to “stay on task”.  I’m still in love.

Then I killed some time discussing refrigerators with the salesmen.  There was much laughter when I admitted that my husband and I really wanted a new couch, but I’d buy a new fridge just as easily.  Apparantly men are supposed to worry about the fridge, women about the furniture.  There’s just something about the stainless with the LED lights…. I can’t help it. 

ANYWAY, after Nick insisting I could not purchase either a drawer microwave, new fridge, or both, I moved on to the next store.  As you can tell, someone was very excited that we hadn’t returned to the car.

Crabby little dude!

Not sure whether it was the pink bottle, the shopping, or the fact that he was a human billboard, but he’d had about enough.

Then mom found another blue and brown “monstrosity”, as Nick referred to it later.

Blue and Brown couchI still prefer the other one, but would have happily taken this one home, as well.  And because of all the brown, it would have been a lot easier to modify my living room to make it work.

 

That store wasn’t working for us, so we moved on.  We walked in and discovered this, which really pleased little dude.

Little dude goes for a ride

What a happy boy!

Finally, the search came to an end.  We bought the following couch, but with microfiber in a tan color.  It reclines, has armrest storage, a fold down table, and a drawer under the center seat.  Nick, Ollie and I all fit on it, and we can get back out of it.  It isn’t cold, and it actually doesn’t seem to hold pet hair as much as I expected!  It’s a Franklin, which offers a lifetime warranty on the mechanics, along with super warranties on the cushions, too!

Our couch!  (Well, almost.)

 

Sleepy little dude

It was a long day, but it was worth it! Even Henry likes it!

Henry loves the couch

So my question to you dear friends (jokingly, of course…) is – can I write off my new couch since I’ve spent an entire week with it as my office?

I even have my USB cord running underneath it so I can quickly print right from my perch.  What is the world coming to?

Next project?  Be able to print wirelessly.  Ug.  I’ve been putting that one off.  Not as fun, nor as many pictures.

Joslyn Panka Solomon – Realtor

Century 21 Moline Realty

Looking for an East Central Minnesota home?  Start your search here and find the perfect property!  www.century21moline.com

Friend me on facebook!  www.facebook.com/joslynsolomon

Leave a comment